How to obtain a yellow fever card in Nigeria


The yellow fever card in Nigeria is a certificate that shows that a traveller has been vaccinated. It is an internationally recognised vaccination certificate. In some countries, a yellow fever card is a part of the requirements for entry, especially in some African countries. So travellers are to affix their yellow fever card to their Nigerian passport. Service is no longer available. It is noteworthy that the WHO has approved the yellow fever card.

It is advisable to get a yellow fever vaccination when travelling to a yellow fever risk area, even when it is not indicated. If you do not provide a yellow card when travelling to a country that indicates it as a travelling requirement, there is a high likelihood that you will be denied entry or quarantined. So do the much-needed research before embarking on a journey.

How to obtain a yellow fever card in Nigeria

Yellow fever card in Nigeria

In Nigeria, yellow fever card is compulsory for all travellers making an entry into the country. Every traveller will be expected to show a valid yellow fever card. After vaccination from yellow fever, a yellow fever card will be given. The federal government made a pronouncement that the old yellow fever card will no longer be in use from 1, July 2019. The Nigerian government has issued an E-yellow fever card in its place. The ministry of health is authorised to issue the Electronic yellow fever card or e-yellow fever card.

Read: How To Travel Abroad From Nigeria

Categories of People that need the yellow fever card in Nigeria

For travellers who are above nine months of age, they are expected to be vaccinated against yellow fever, before entry into Nigeria. The yellow fever virus is endemic in Nigeria. So before entering into the country, travellers are expected to show proof of yellow fever vaccination.

Why the new E-Yellow fever card?

The government of Nigeria launched the new yellow fever card to forestall the sale of fake yellow fever cards by touts and hoodlum. A lot of passengers and visitors to the country has fallen victim to counterfeit yellow fever card, which is being hawked in various international airport in the country.

Cost of the new yellow fever card in Nigeria

The new yellow fever card is sold 2000 Naira, and you are expected to use your debit card to make the procurement online.

Read: 4 Common Mistakes Made by Travelers You Must Avoid

How to get the new yellow fever card in Nigeria

To get the new yellow fever card, following the following steps:

  • Log on to
  • Ensure you click on the ‘register’ column.
  • A form will pop out. Enter your details and click the ‘submit’ button when you are done.
  • You will be directed to the payment section. Click on the ‘payment’ button, your Remita retrieval receipt code will pop up, and you can either pay online through the remita portal or bank deposit.
  • Take along the yellow card payment receipt to any Port Health Services office. You will be vaccinated for yellow fever and be given the yellow fever card.

Total number of Countries That Require Proof Of Yellow Fever Vaccination from Nigerian travellers

The following countries are listed in the World Health Organization’s International Travel and Health website as countries that require yellow fever vaccination proof from every foreign traveller entering their country, including Nigerians.

The countries are:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Argentina
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Bonaire
  • Botswana
  • Brunei
  • Darussalam
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cape Verde
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • The central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Congo
  • Costa Rica
  • Cote Ivoire
  • Croatia Cuba
  • Curacao
  • Democratic people’s republic of Korea
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Dominica
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Niue
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Philippines
  • Pitcairn islands
  • Reunion
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Barthelemy
  • Saint Helena
  • Saint Kitts & Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Pierre & Miquelon
  • Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome & Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Singapore
  • Sint Eustatius
  • Sint Maarten
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Tristan da Cunha
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Venezuela
  • Wallis & Futuna
  • Zambia

Read: Causes and Symptoms of Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19)

Leave a Reply