UFC Weight Classes and Weight Divisions

This article contains the current UFC Weight Classes and Weight Divisions.

The Ultimate Fighting Championship known as UFC has over the years grown to become one of the fastest-growing sports in the world, and the world’s Number one mixed martial arts (MMA) competition.

UFC Weight Classes

The competition has been held in over 22 countries and 6 continents so far.

Before now, there was nothing like UFC weight classes or divisions. Any fighter could fight any other fighter, and that was a total disaster.

However, thanks to regulations, things are have changed over the years. Now, fights are scheduled by the UFC under weight classes, just like it is done in boxing.

The reason behind scheduling these fights under weight classes is to ensure that only fighters who are of similar weight are paired to fight. This makes it fair and safe.

Hence, for any promotion to organize a mixed martial arts event, such promotion must abide by the rules for weight limits, thereby ensuring only fighters of the same weigh are matched up for a fight.

If you wish to know the current Ultimate Fighting Championship weight classes, this article will help.

In this article, we have listed the minimum and maximum weight allowed for each Ultimate Fighting Championship weight class.

Ultimate Fighting Championship Weight Classes For Men and Women

There is a total of 9 UFC Weight classes and divisions available for both men and women.

Below is the list of the available weight division in UFC.

  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight
  9. Strawweight

There is a UFC competition for each of these divisions, and fighters under these classes fight to win and keep the title after they win it.

There are 8 weight classes available to men, while 4 to women. The Strawweight is the only championship available to only women.

Women also fight in the Bantamweight championship, and more recently Flyweight and Featherweight.

Aside from the Strawweight class that is available for only women to compete, men compete in all other eight categories.

Below are the current minimum and maximum weight limits for men and women in the Ultimate Fighting Championship weigh classes.

Men’s UFC Weight Classes

Weight Class Minimum Weight Maximum Weight
Heavyweight 205 lb (93 kg) 265 lb (120 kg)
Light Heavyweight 185 lb (83.9 kg) 205 lb (93 kg)
Middleweight 170 lb (77.1 kg) 185 lb (83.9 kg)
Welterweight 155 lb (70.3 kg) 170 lb (77.1 kg)
Lightweight 145 lb (65.8 kg) 155 lb (70.3 kg)
Featherweight 135 lb (61.2 kg) 145 lb (65.8 kg)
Bantamweight 125 lb (56.7 kg) 135 lb (61.2 kg)
Flyweight 115 lb (52.2 kg) 125 lb (56.7kg)

Women’s UFC Weight Classes

Weight Class Minimum Weight Maximum Weight
Featherweight 135 lb (61.2 kg) 145 lb (65.8 kg)
Bantamweight 125 lb (56.7 kg) 135 lb (61.2 kg)
Flyweight 115 lb (52.2 kg) 125 lb (56.7kg)
Strawweight* No requirement 115 lb (52.2kg)

UFC Men’s Rankings

Rank Fighter Weight Class Win/Loss Record Last Fight Next Fight
1 Jon Jones Light Heavyweight (2008-2020), Heavyweight (Present) 26-1, 1NC Defeated Dominick Reyes TBD
2 Kamaru Usman Welterweight 19-1 Defeated Gilbert Burns TBD
3 Alexander Volkanovski Featherweight (2014–present); Lightweight (2014; 2016); Welterweight (2012–2013) 22-1 Defeated Max Holloway TBD
4 Israel Adesanya Middleweight (2012-present) Light Heavyweight (2021) 20-1 Lost to Jan Blachowicz TBD
5 Francis Ngannou Heavyweight 16-3 Defeated Stipe Miocic TBD
6 Dustin Poirier Lightweight (2009–2010, 2015–present); Featherweight (2011–2014) 27-6, 1NC Defeated Conor McGregor Conor McGregor (UFC 264)
7 Jan Blachowicz Light Heavyweight 28-8 Defeated Israel Adesanya TBD
8 Stipe Miocic Heavyweight 20-4 Lost to Francis Ngannou TBD
9 Max Holloway Featherweight (2012–present); Lightweight (2010–2011, 2019) 22-6 Defeated Calvin Kattar TBD
10 Deiveson Figueiredo Flyweight 20-1-1 Draw against Brandon Moreno Brandon Moreno (UFC 263 – for the UFC Flyweight Championship)
11 Charles Oliveira Lightweight 31-8, 1NC Defeated Michael Chandler TBD
12 Robert Whittaker Welterweight (2009–2014); Middleweight (2014–present) 23-5 Defeated Kelvin Gastelum TBD
13 Petr Yan Bantamweight 15-2 Disqualified against Aljamain Sterling TBD
14 Justin Gaethje Lightweight 22-3 Lost to Khabib Nurmagomedov TBD
15 Aljamain Sterling Bantamweight (2011-Present), Featherweight (2011) 20-3 Won via disqualification against Petr Yan TBD


UFC Flyweight Rankings 2021

Rank Fighter Win/Loss Record Last Fight Next Fight
Champion Deiveson Figueiredo 20-1-1. Drew against Brandon Moreno Brandon Moreno (UFC 263 for the UFC Flyweight Championship)
1 Brandon Moreno 18–5–2. Drew against Deiveson Figueiredo Deiveson Figueiredo (UFC 263 for the UFC Flyweight Championship)
2 Askar Askarov 13-0-1. Defeated Joseph Benavidez TBD
3 Alexandre Pantoja 23-5 Defeated Manel Kape TBD
4 Alex Perez 24-6 Lost to Deiveson Figueiredo Matt Schnell ( UFC 262)
5 Joseph Benavidez 28-8 Defeated Askar Askarov TBD
6 Brandon Royval 12-5 Lost to Brandon Moreno TBD
7 Kai Kara France 22-9, 1 NC Defeated Rogerio Bontorin TBD
8 Matt Schnell 15-5 Defeated Tyson Nam Alex Perez (UFC 262)
9 Rogerio Bontorin 16-3, 1 NC Lost to Kai Kara-France TBD
10 Tim Elliot 17-11-1 Defeated Jordan Espinosa Su Mudaerji (UFC Fight Night 191)
11 David Dvorak 19-3 Defeated Jordan Espinosa Raulian Paiva (UFC Fight Night 188)
12 Raulian Paiva 20-3 Defeated Zhalgas Zhumagulov David Dvorak (UFC Fight Night 188)
13 Su Mudaerji 14-4 Defeated Zarrukh Adashev Tim Elliot (UFC Fight Night 193)
14 Matheus Nicolau 16-2-1 Defeated Manel Kape TBD
15 Amir Albazi 14-1 Defeated Zhalgas Zhumagulov TBD


UFC Bantamweight Rankings 2021

Rank Fighter Win/Loss Record Last Fight Next Fight
Champion Aljamain Sterling 20-3 Defeated Petr Yan TBD
1 Petr Yan 15-2 Lost to Aljamain Sterling TBD
2 Cory Sandhagen 14-2 Defeated Frankie Edgar T.J. Dillashaw (UFC on ESPN 24)
3 Rob Font 18-4 Defeated Marlon Moraes Cody Garbrandt (UFC Fight Night 188)
4 Cody Garbrandt 12-3 Defeated Raphael Assunção Rob Font (UFC Fight Night 188)
5 Jose Aldo 29-7 Defeated Marlon Vera TBD
6 Marlon Moraes 23-8-1 Lost to Rob Font TBD
7 Frankie Edgar 24-9-1 Lost to Cory Sandhagen TBD
8 Pedro Munhoz 19-5, 1 NC Defeated Jimmie Rivera TBD
9 Dominick Cruz 23-3 Defeated Casey Kenney TBD
10 Merab Dvalishvili 13–4 Defeated Cody Stamann TBD
11 Raphael Assuncao 27-8 Lost to Cody Garbrandt TBD
12 Jimmie Rivera 23-5 Lost to Pedro Munhoz TBD
13 Cody Stamann 18–3–1 Lost to Jimmie Rivera Merab Dvalishvili (UFC on ESPN 23)
14 Kyler Phillips 9-1 Defeated Song Yadong TBD
15 Marlon Vera 16–7-1 Lost to José Aldo TBD


That’s all. If you find this article helpful, please share it using any of the social media buttons below.

Also See: Is WWE Fake?

Leave a Reply