List of Senate Presidents in Nigeria From 1960 Till Date and Their Political Party

Hello guys, today we are coming to you with something interesting. I mean the information that you might have long wish to come across which is ‘List of Senate Presidents in Nigeria From Independence’ (1960) Till Date.

Senate Presidents in Nigeria

This article will contain the names of every person that has been appointed into the office from 1960 till today.

Ongoing: 2020/2021 May June WAEC Timetable

About Senate President in Nigeria

The President of the Nigerian Senate is the presiding officer of the Senate of Nigeria, elected by its membership. The Senate President is regarded as the second man in the country after the VP and also second in line for succession to the Nigerian presidency title, after the Vice President of Nigeria.

NOTE: Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan is active now.

List of Senate Presidents in Nigeria and their Political Party

1. Nnamdi Azikiwe: 1960 NCNC
2. Dennis Osadebey: 1960-1963 NCNC
3. Nwafor Orizu: 1963-1966 NCNC
4. Joseph Wayas: 1979-1983 NPN
5. Iyorchia Ayu: 1992-1993 SDP
6. Ameh Ebute: 1993 SDP
7. Evan Enwerem: 1999 PDP
8. Chuba Okadigbo: 1999-2000 PDP
9. Anyim Pius Anyim: 2000-2003 PDP
10. Adolphus Wabara: 2003-2005 PDP
11. Ken Nnamani: 2005-2007 PDP
12. David Mark: 2007-2015 PDP
12. Bokula Saraki: 2015-2019 APC
13. Ahmed Lawan: 2019-DATE APC

Analysis of Senate Presidents in Nigeria and their Political Party

Nnamdi Azikiwe

Nnamdi Azikiwe served as Nigeria’s first senate president from 1 January 1960 to 1 October 1960. He later became Nigeria’s first president from 1963-1966. He was a key figure in the fight for Nigeria’s independence.

Dennis Osadebey

Dennis Osadebey served as Nigeria’s senate president from 1 October 1960 – 1964. He was a politician and one of Nigeria’s most famous poets. He also served as the premier of the Mid-Western Region of Nigeria.

Nwafor Orizu

Nwafor Orizu was an Igbo politician and became the senate president of Nigeria from 16 November 1960 until 15 January 1966. He later briefly served as Nigeria’s acting president from January 1965 till 1966. He was royalty by birth.

Joseph Wayas

Joseph Wayas was made the Senate president from 1979 until 1983. He is from Obudu, Cross River state.

Iyorchia Ayu

Iyorchia Ayu hails from Benue state. He served as the senate president of Nigeria from 1992 to 1993. He later served as the Minister of Education, Minister of Information and Minister of Internal Affairs.

Ameh Ebute

Ameh Ebute is from Benue state. He served as Nigeria’s senate president in 1993.

Evan Enwerem

Evan Enwerem was an indigene of Imo state. He was elected as the senate president of Nigeria from 3 June 1999 until 18 November 1999. He was a loyal PDP member.

Chuba Okadigbo

Chuba Okadigbo alias ‘Oyi’ was a Nigerian politician and political scientist. He served as Nigerian senate president from 1999 until 2000.

Anyim Pius Anyim

Anyim Pius Anyim is a Nigerian politician who led Nigeria’s senate house from August 2000 until  May 2003. He later served as the secretary to the federal government in Goodluck Jonathan’s government. He is a member of the People’s Democratic Party.

Adolphus Wabara

Adolphus Wabara is an Abia state indigene. He led the Nigerian senate from 2003 to 2005. He resigned from this position in 2005.

Ken Nnamani

Ken Nnamani is a Nigerian politician and he led the Nigerian senate-house from 5 April 2005 till May 2007. He is from Enugu state.

David Mark

David Mark is from Benue state. He led the Nigerian senate house of reps from 2007 to 2015. He was a retired Brigadier General in the Nigerian Army. He is a member of the PDP.

Bukola Saraki

Bukola Saraki served as Nigerian senate leader from 2015 to 2019. He was a former governor of Kwara State and won the senate election in 2011. He decamped from PDP to APC in 2015. He later returned to PDP in 2018. He has variously declared intention to run as a presidential candidate.

Ahmed Lawan

Ahmed Lawan is a Nigerian politician from Yobe state. He is a member of the APC and has been a member of the Nigerian senate since 2007. He is the current senate president since 2019. He had been an academician prior to his entry into politics.


Final NOTE

Now that you’ve seen this piece of information, What’s your take on it? Don’t you think that someone else out there might be in need of this information?
PLEASE SHARE on Facebook, Whatsapp and Twitter

Leave a Reply