Traditional Titles in Nigeria [2021 Latest Update]

In Nigeria, traditional rulers are given different titles based on one thing or the other.

So, in today’s post, I will be deliberating on the list and names of all the traditional titles that are awarded to deserved persons in Nigeria.

Who is a Traditional Ruler

Traditional rulers are individuals that derived their titles from the previous rulers of independent states or communities. They have a great influence on the people of their community and are well respected even though they do not have formal political power.

Frequently Asked Question on Traditional Ruler?

  • What is a traditional title?
  • Who is the highest traditional ruler in Nigeria?
  • What is traditional rule?
  • Does Nigeria have royalty?
  • Who is the number 1 king in Nigeria?
  • Who is the youngest king in Nigeria?

Traditional Titles in Nigeria

  1. Aku Uka of Wukari
  2. Alaafin of Oyo
  3. Alake of Egbaland
  4. Asagba of Asaba (Delta)
  5. Ataoja of Oshogbo
  6. Attah of Igala (Kogi)
  7. Awjale of Ijebuland
  8. Ayangbunrin of Ikorodu
  9. Emir of Kano
  10. Emir of Zazzau
  11. Etsu Nupe
  12. Ewi of Ado Ekiti
  13. Gbom Gbom of Jos (Plateau)
  14. Lamido of Adamawa
  15. Oba of Benin
  16. Oba of Lagos
  17. Obi of Agbor (Delta)
  18. Obi of Onitsha
  19. Obong of Calabar
  20. Ochi Idoma of Idoma
  21. Oluwu of Owo
  22. Olu of Warri (Delta)
  23. Olubadan of Ibadan
  24. Olugbo of Ugboland
  25. Ooni of Ife (Osun)
  26. Osemawe of Ondo
  27. Owa Obokun of Ijesaland
  28. Owa of IIeshi (Osun)
  29. Owa Ooye of Okemesi
  30. Shehu of Borno
  31. Soun of Ogbomoso (Oyo)
  32. Sultan of Sokoto
  33. Tor Tiv (Benue)

Have anything to add? Use the comment section below.

Leave a Reply