If you are a business owner, then you certainly should know what Yelp is all about. However, for the sake of those are not well aware of what yelp is, and what it does, I will take out time to quickly explain it.
It is important you understand fully what Yelp is, and how your business can benefit from it, before deleting your Yelp account.
Yelp is a business directory service and crowdsourced review platform founded in 2004 with headquarter in San Francisco, California.
Yelp was designed so as to help business owners list their business, so it becomes easy for potential customers or clients to find them. In Yelp, people leave reviews about the business or services you provide.
Based on this, you are likely to get more clients or customers to your business, especially when the reviews are good ones.
In addition to reviews, you can use Yelp to find events, lists and to talk with other Yelpers. Creating a Yelp account is very easy and free. If you are a business owner, you can set up a free Yelp account to post photos and message your customers.
However, there are times when you no longer wish to continue with your Yelp account, be it personal Yelp account for reviews, or your business Yelp account.
How do you go about deleting it? Well, this is what we intend to show you in this article. In this guide, I will show you how to delete your personal Yelp account or business Yelp account.
Before I show you how to delete your Yelp account, please note the following:
By closing your personal Yelp account, all your reviews, posts, pictures, and activity on Yelp will be removed. You will also have to use a desktop browser to close your account.
For business owners, when you delete your Yelp business account, you are only giving up control of your business listing. You CANNOT remove a business listing, unless you contact Yelp directly and plead your case.
Having said these, let me now take you through the process on how to delete your Yelp account.
How to Delete Yelp Account
Like I indicated earlier in this article, there are 2 types of Yelp account- Yelp personal account and Yelp business account. Hence, in this section, I will show you how to close them.
How to Close Yelp Personal Account
Closing your user account will remove any content you’ve posted (reviews, photos, etc.) to Yelp as a consumer, and once your account has been closed it cannot be restored.
To delete your Yelp personal account, follow the process below:
1. Log in to your Yelp personal account.
2. Request your yelp account to be deleted. To do this simply click on the Yelp closure account link.
3. Confirm your request. After your delete Yelp account request has been submitted, you will receive a confirmation email from Yelp on your email account associated with your Yelp account.
4. Open the email and confirm deletion. If you can’t find the mail on your inbox, then check your spam or trash folders.
Thats all on how to close your Yelp personal account.
How to Close Yelp Business Account
If you no longer require access to your claimed business page on Yelp, you can simply unclaim the page and close your Yelp business account.
However, keep in mind that closing a business account does not remove the business page from Yelp.
To delete your Yelp business account, follow the process below:
1. Login to your Yelp business account.
2. Go to this page https://www.yelp.com/support/contact/business_unclaim/
3. Find your business listing with the form there.
4. Select the business, confirm it is yours by checking the address.
5. Write a detailed explanation as to why you require your Yelp business listing to be closed. Be sure to give detailed reasons.
6. Click submit to submit your request.
7. A mail will be sent to your email associated with your Yelp business account. Follow the instructions on the mail to close your Yelp business account.
How To Remove A Yelp Account That Violates Yelp Policy
There are instances where it becomes difficult to delete your Yelp account, and you keep getting bad reviews that is spoiling your business.
It will interest you to know that there are certain guidelines that your business might violate and it will most likely earn you a quick removal from Yelp.
Below are the guidelines.
Online-only businesses: Your business has no physical location where consumers come to buy from you.
B2B businesses: Your business only sells to other businesses, not consumers
Direct-sellers: Your business is a direct-seller business that has no formal physical location
Timbuktu: Your business is located in a country that is not on Yelp’s hit list of countries Yelp “supports.
If your business is in any of the above categories, congratulations, removing your Yelp account will be much easy for you.
That’s all on how to delete Yelp account. If you followed the process carefully, then you would have successfully closed your Yelp personal and business account.
You can also sell your product throgh the Facebook Marketplace. Here is our detailed article on how to use Facebook Marketplace to reach out to potential customers or clients.
I hope this article on how to delete Yelp account helps?
If you find this article interesting, please share it with your friends using any of the share buttons below.