Can you deactivate your Facebook temporarily or better still delete Facebook account permanently? Though we agree that Facebook is the easiest way to keep in touch with our loved ones, we may be biased by thinking in that direction.
I remember what a friend posted before he deleted his account and I quote “I once had a life until someone asked me to create a Facebook account” – It sounded funny but true.
You hardly keep in touch, no visitation, no hang out, just you and your device. So, let’s see how to deactivate your Facebook account and take a break from this Facebook thing.
What Happens When You Deactivate Your Facebook Account
- No one else can see your profile.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
- Your friends may still see your name in their friends’ list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends’ list.
- Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.
Account Deactivation FAQ
Will Facebook immediately remove my deactivated account?
Unless you specifically request deletion, Facebook does not remove your account once you deactivate it. The only action the social network takes on its own is to disable your account, and this is merely to protect the network’s integrity.
Can I reactivate my account after I deactivated it?
You can reactivate your Facebook account anytime by logging back in or logging in somewhere else with your account.
Note that you’ll need access to the email or mobile number you use to log in. You can request a new password if you can’t remember your old one.
Is it possible for someone to access your deactivated Facebook account?
Account deactivation, as opposed to account deletion, which totally deletes a user’s account, including all content, halts a Facebook account. This implies that anyone with your email address and password can log in to your account and use your Facebook identity.